8 – The Beginning of my Adventure – Letter One

8b

14th June 2015

Dear Lucy,

I have found myself with a couple of hours whilst waiting for my train to arrive, so thought I would start to tell you the story of how I began my travels.

Last summer, some months before setting out on my adventure, I was making my usual weekly delivery to the bank in order to deposit the congregational collection into the Vicar’s private bank account at ‘Brumbly, Bumbly and BumbleBee’.  When I started off through the fields it was a glorious, albeit balmy, August day.  However, on hitting Hawthorn Wood a great storm blew up sending horizontal rain into my eyes and leaves up my ears.  Temporarily without my ‘mouse senses’ I had the misfortune of hitting a tree stump which sent me flying arse over the handlebars and through a tiny doorway into the abode of one Sir Winston Woodmouse.

blog 8 part1

Winston, being a thoroughly decent chap, soon had me settled by a roaring fire with a fluffy towel, warm nettle foot-bath and a cup of sweet tea.  As I sipped on my brew Winston began to tell me the story of his life.  Turns out, as a young mouse, he had been a great adventurer and apparently his journey began with the simple task of posting a letter.

blog 8 part2

On the 11th of August 1999 Winston had been in the process of popping an airmail letter off to his cousin in Australia.  Winston recounted that, just as he was posting his letter through the box, the sky turned black as night and the air as cold as winter.  The freak weather conditions sucked Winston through the slot and he found himself whirling and twirling at some considerable speed down a series of tunnels until ending up in a rather disheveled heap amidst a pile of mail within a large sorting office full of mice.

blog 8 part3

It seems that somewhere back in the 1980’s and with the advent of emails, text and serious loads of junk mail, the delivery responsibilities of rare hand written letters and postcards were given over to the job of mice by the Post Office.

Oh must go …. train’s here.  Will tell you the rest in my next letter.

Love Always!  M.M.

blog 8

blog 8a

Can you guess why the weather changed so drastically the day Winston went to post his letter?  Why not Google the date then hit the comments box to tell me what you found out.


M.M.

© All images and story content copyright of lynncf

 

3 Comments

      1. Lol just seen this comment and haven’t a ruddy clue what I was on about despite re-reading this post. Need to see if there is a way I can get replies sent to my email address 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

